Page 3 of 4

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.0.7

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 5:56 pm
by ThaPear
Updated to 0.0.8

It should be fixed now. Let me know if the issue persists.

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.0.7

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:11 pm
by Airat9000
ThaPear wrote:Updated to 0.0.8

It should be fixed now. Let me know if the issue persists.
in this version starts to produce the machine, the game starts to hang, but it works brakes

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.0.7

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:36 pm
by ThaPear
Airat9000 wrote:
ThaPear wrote:Updated to 0.0.8

It should be fixed now. Let me know if the issue persists.
in this version starts to produce the machine, the game starts to hang, but it works brakes
I do not understand, could you rephrase that?

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.0.7

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 11:59 pm
by kiba
ThaPear wrote:
Airat9000 wrote:
ThaPear wrote:Updated to 0.0.8

It should be fixed now. Let me know if the issue persists.
in this version starts to produce the machine, the game starts to hang, but it works brakes
I do not understand, could you rephrase that?
brakes = great?

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.0.8

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 1:40 am
by jayckob11
Alright so I've been looking at the lock frames when the harvesters are running to try and find when it occurs. The screen locks up for a few frames at the beginning of each scoop animation and locks up for about double that amount of frames when the harvest has finished scooping and presumably is searching for a new patch. With two harvesters the frame lock is additive, if two harvesters finish scooping at the same time, the frames lock for double the amount of time, the harvester being out of fuel makes the frame-lock issue disappear so it's to do with them looking for a patch and scooping. I don't know if threading could help with the issue or just spreading the function over multiple frames(start a queue) or if you have a master plan I'm unaware of but as it stands, I really look forward to the next update, if you have no plans to fix the frame-lock please let me know So I can help out. Anyway's great mod!

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.0.7

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 7:26 pm
by Airat9000
ThaPear wrote:
Airat9000 wrote:
ThaPear wrote:Updated to 0.0.8

It should be fixed now. Let me know if the issue persists.
in this version starts to produce the machine, the game starts to hang, but it works brakes
I do not understand, could you rephrase that?
game slow in plae to harvester (not harvester game in normal speed to slow.) fps down and 80 to 10 fps .. not harvester fps normal

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.0.8

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 1:08 am
by firebreaker2262
noticed a glitch with the smart inserters and the refinery, hooking them up to a smart wire causes the smart inserter to automatically start to work, even with nothing in the filter or network selected. this causes it to run continuiously even if you try and use it as intended.

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.0.8

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 10:26 pm
by n9103
Smart inserters always activate when wired up without conditions. Vanilla feature.

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.0.8

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 2:40 am
by Devildog
Awesome its now fully automated!

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.0.8

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 2:57 am
by tgaredemptor
Error when trying to mine crystal ore from Dytech

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.0.8

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 7:35 am
by ThaPear
tgaredemptor wrote:Error when trying to mine crystal ore from Dytech
Could you tell me what the error said and what line it indicated? Thanks!

I'm currently Ill so I'll take a look at it when I'm better.
I'm also planning an optimisation pass since the current performance is horrid.

EDIT: I think I've found the error and corrected it. I'll release the new version when I've finished the optimization.

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.1.0

Posted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:51 pm
by ThaPear
I've greatly improved performance. I've reduced CPU usage by 60-70%.
I've also fixed the issue with dytech gems.

I'd love to hear any new errors you guys have :D

Updated to 0.1.0

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.1.0

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:11 pm
by jorgenRe
ThaPear wrote: I'd love to hear any new errors you guys have :D
Updated to 0.1.0
That is some great confidence you got in your code ;)!

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.1.0

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 7:37 pm
by Shanix
Is there anyway to get the harvesters to ignore certain ores? I'm getting a crash when I run harvesters over ore deposits with Underground Mining enabled.

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.1.0

Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 1:03 pm
by n9103
Shanix wrote:Is there anyway to get the harvesters to ignore certain ores? I'm getting a crash when I run harvesters over ore deposits with Underground Mining enabled.
add an entry to this section of harvester.lua

Code: Select all

		-- No fluids.
		if game.entityprototypes[ore.name].resourcecategory == "basic-fluid"
		-- No lava.
		or game.entityprototypes[ore.name].resourcecategory == "lava-magma"
		-- No depleted resources that aren't infinite.
		or (ore.amount <= 0 and not game.entityprototypes[ore.name].infiniteresource)
		-- No trees.
		or string.find(ore.name, "tree") then
			-- Not a valid ore.

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.1.0

Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 1:27 pm
by ThaPear
I'll probably add an easy way to do it in the next version, which I'll do when 0.12 is out. In the meantime n9103's suggestion will work.

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.1.0

Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 6:26 pm
by Inspired
Hi!

I like your mod, but there is something that really bugs me about it. Could you guide me through changing the sprite/entity size of the harvester? I would like to reduce it to ~1/2 or 1/3 in size so it doesn't look as stretched.

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.1.0

Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:22 pm
by CodeRedAlert
This was a previous post by someone, but the harvesters seem to freeze the game whenever they load ore into their inventory. Every scoop freezes the game by a second and causes some awkward gameplay, is this an issue on my end or the harvesters?

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.1.0

Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 10:55 pm
by buddy1913
Hi!

I hope you don't mind but i have created an unofficial update for your mod to bring it into compatability with versions 0.12.11 and up.
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 20&t=18311

Re: [0.11.22] Automated Red Alert harvesters 0.1.0 error

Posted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:24 am
by Zcoolest
missing enity (huge explosion)? lol dam i love c@c.