Page 1 of 1

Allow items and fluids in a selector

Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 11:20 am
by oof2win2
Hello. I would like to request a new "item-and-fluid" elem_type for a choose-elem-button GUI element. This is because sometimes, fluids and items want to be mixed in a GUI, such as selecting inputs but still being able to filter them.

I'm coming off of viewtopic.php?f=28&t=79257, where Raiguard wanted the same thing. I understand that this would be a very complex task, but it would make mods better in ways, as people wouldn't need to make their own GUIs for this like in Factory Planner, but would be able to integrate these two different types together and still be able to filter them.

Edit:
Upon realization that signals can have fluids and items both, I think it would probably be easier to have a filter for signals, which already allow for the combination. Modders could still get the signals and use them instead.

Re: Allow items and fluids in a selector

Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 11:26 am
by curiosity
This may be easier accomplished by adding the possibility of filtering to signals, which already include items and fluids.

Re: Allow items and fluids in a selector

Posted: Sun Mar 21, 2021 10:33 am
by PFQNiet
"Signals" also includes virtual signals, though, which may not be wanted.

Re: Allow items and fluids in a selector

Posted: Thu Oct 14, 2021 1:28 pm
by InappropriatePenguin
Just wanted to +1 this request. I'm currently having to show all signals in order to allow the player to select items/fluids from the same button in my mod (https://mods.factorio.com/mod/production-analyst) and I just ignore any virtual signal input.

Re: Allow items and fluids in a selector

Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2022 12:17 am
by Xorimuth
+1

This would be useful for my Factory Search mod in which users need to be able to search both items and fluids, but the signals are meaningless.

Edit: it now supports signals so they aren't meaningless!

Re: Allow items and fluids in a selector

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2022 4:38 pm
by Dominiquini
+1