Page 1 of 1

[IDEA] Function combinator

Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2023 11:18 am
by Azat
Hi everyone.
I find it strange that combinator that just adds a constant to a signal is of a size of a factory. Because of this limitation it prevents people to do some cool stuff that they could with combinator logic (they still can but it is much more complex). So my idea is to make a combinator that can take a blueprint string (only consisting of circuit elements) with input and output points into one combinator element.
Requirement would be to actually have the elements that are merged in the game (maybe hidden or in some non-available coordinates, so that from the game perspective it would be like a real blueprint (just placed into one point). This would make it better in terms of compatibility as from the game perspective it can be just as a set of vanilla elements.
By doing quick search on API docs I couldn't find ways that I can do it. Do you have any suggestion where should I look? Or is it even possible

Thanks

Re: [IDEA] Function combinator

Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2023 12:39 pm
by Qon
There're nods for this, but they are all bad in some way. Some because of api limitations maybe.

But it's a great idea, wish it was a vanilla feature (so it would actually work)

Re: [IDEA] Function combinator

Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2023 7:08 am
by thelordodin
There are some mods doing this already. Some of good ones are hard to find, because you just don't expect it from mod's name.
Here you go:
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/compaktcircuit
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/integratedCircuitryFixed - what? lamps? I don't need lamps!!! - ha ha ha! But except for the lamps there is a super-duper entity you want)) and the implementation seems to me better than explicit ones below.
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/ImprovedCombinatorSE
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/circuitissimo
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/m-microcontroller
And also there was a mod that uses trains like gui to set up custom combinators. I don't remember mods name. I did see it but it lacks many functions so I didn't like it.

About your own implementation, if you are still up to this I can help you - send a PM. I do understand most of how it should be done and what is missing from mods above, but I don't have enough time to do it. I'll describe here shortly:
- Inputs and outputs naming would be really nice
- A better way to set instructions than building 20+ combinator - some visual language would be super nice. As digging in that wire-mess annoys very quickly and isn't fun at all.

Re: [IDEA] Function combinator

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2024 9:50 am
by BraveCaperCat
thelordodin wrote:
Sun Dec 24, 2023 7:08 am
And also there was a mod that uses trains like gui to set up custom combinators. I don't remember mods name. I did see it but it lacks many functions so I didn't like it.
Feels like that 2.0 combinator FFF you are talking about.