I can't stop watching now...infinitehubgear wrote:I remember, the HD official mod was mentioned here.
Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
I'm hoping this will work when they come out, only time will tell.
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
And what does all that do?
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
It checks if there is only one signal from A+B+C, then S go "high", or if there is two of these signals at any combination excluding three of them, then Cout gets "high".FrozenOne wrote:And what does all that do?
Or thats how i understand that
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
It's an adder, it adds the 3 one-bit signals to a single 2-bit signal.Thunder wrote:It checks if there is only one signal from A+B+C, then S go "high", or if there is two of these signals at any combination excluding three of them, then Cout gets "high".FrozenOne wrote:And what does all that do?
Or thats how i understand that
Easiest way I can visualise is a truth table:
Code: Select all
A B C | C S
0 0 0 | 0 0
0 0 1 | 0 1 -- 0 + 0 + 1 = 1
0 1 0 | 0 1
0 1 1 | 1 0 -- 0 + 1 + 1 = 2 = 1 0
1 0 0 | 0 1
1 0 1 | 1 0
1 1 0 | 1 0
1 1 1 | 1 1 -- 1 + 1 + 1 = 3 = 1 1
My mods: Red Alert Harvesters - Clean Pipes - Filtered Splitters
-
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 952
- Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 12:10 pm
- Contact:
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
You then need to pull out the units and the twos to get the result. Or just cross the wires (all outputs are summed)DaveMcW wrote:Or you could just do this:
However I think that it's best to not go bitwise with arithmetic and instead treat each signal as a 32-bit integral signal (if that is indeed the limit). Having the modulo operator would be a good help for extracting the bits (or even the decimal digits for a segment display).
As a suggestion being able to use the Constant Combinator to pull in the amount from the logistics network it is in would be nice as input so you can start the sulfur production running when a battery derived product starts getting low and there is no backlog of batteries available.
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
Wait. I just noticed this sentence: "The comparison of the normal resolution render versus the double sized resolution speaks for itself."Cordylus wrote:I can't stop watching now...infinitehubgear wrote:I remember, the HD official mod was mentioned here.
So that is only 2 times the normal resolution? That means I'll have enough VRAM for the whole game at this quality! I want it for everything !!
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
Just remember that double the resolution means 4x the pixels(and memory)Zeblote wrote:Wait. I just noticed this sentence: "The comparison of the normal resolution render versus the double sized resolution speaks for itself."Cordylus wrote:I can't stop watching now...infinitehubgear wrote:I remember, the HD official mod was mentioned here.
So that is only 2 times the normal resolution? That means I'll have enough VRAM for the whole game at this quality! I want it for everything !!
10x10 sprite = 100pixels
20x20 sprite = 400pixels
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
Well, the system requirements say it currently needs 512MB, so those 2GB should fit in 6!starholme wrote:Just remember that double the resolution means 4x the pixels(and memory)Zeblote wrote:Wait. I just noticed this sentence: "The comparison of the normal resolution render versus the double sized resolution speaks for itself."Cordylus wrote:I can't stop watching now...infinitehubgear wrote:I remember, the HD official mod was mentioned here.
[img ]https://eu3.factorio.com/assets//img/bl ... lution.gif[/img]
So that is only 2 times the normal resolution? That means I'll have enough VRAM for the whole game at this quality! I want it for everything !!
10x10 sprite = 100pixels
20x20 sprite = 400pixels
Could even do with triple resolution
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
These HD will be awsome but HD mean precision and i think this Steam Engine if really weird and really broken x)
If you look right on the bottom right, the part who look like an egg must be flying because the arm if passing through the central axis of this part.
(in the picture, the red lines help to see the collision point)
My eyes are probably fucked up but this seems really weird to me lol
Help me to find out how it can work if i'm seeing this in a bad way
If you look right on the bottom right, the part who look like an egg must be flying because the arm if passing through the central axis of this part.
(in the picture, the red lines help to see the collision point)
My eyes are probably fucked up but this seems really weird to me lol
Help me to find out how it can work if i'm seeing this in a bad way
- Attachments
-
- This will break!
- Weird machine.png (977.83 KiB) Viewed 8775 times
Interested by modding, multiplayer and often active on IRC
No native English speaker.
No native English speaker.
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
The machines don't have to make sense as long as they look cool while moving
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
There is a solution that makes sense.
- Attachments
-
- machine.jpg (199.06 KiB) Viewed 8763 times
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
A few points.
1. Somebody here said something about red/green wires being bad for color-blind people. Which I agree with. However, I don't think that a global change from red/green is a good idea, and adding a core way to change wire color might be a lot of work. So, I would like to bring this problem to the attention of modders, in hopes that one of them creates a wire recolor mod.
2. Someone else suggested calling constant combinators virtual chests. Which I like.
3. What I can see being very useful is an item like a CC, except that it would be able to be controlled remotely. That way, if set up properly, you could be out in the boonies, find a good place to set up an outpost, and be able to tell your base to stop producing whatever and start making base expansion stuff. Then when you get back to your base, all the stuff you need will be ready to pick up and you can go build your outpost.
1. Somebody here said something about red/green wires being bad for color-blind people. Which I agree with. However, I don't think that a global change from red/green is a good idea, and adding a core way to change wire color might be a lot of work. So, I would like to bring this problem to the attention of modders, in hopes that one of them creates a wire recolor mod.
2. Someone else suggested calling constant combinators virtual chests. Which I like.
3. What I can see being very useful is an item like a CC, except that it would be able to be controlled remotely. That way, if set up properly, you could be out in the boonies, find a good place to set up an outpost, and be able to tell your base to stop producing whatever and start making base expansion stuff. Then when you get back to your base, all the stuff you need will be ready to pick up and you can go build your outpost.
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
I'm afraid the system requirements actually displayed are a little outdatedZeblote wrote:Well, the system requirements say it currently needs 512MB, so those 2GB should fit in 6!
Could even do with triple resolution
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.
-
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 952
- Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 12:10 pm
- Contact:
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
or an overlay when having a red/green wire in your hand or when hovering over a combinator that highlights the wires in a good contrast.Golnor wrote:A few points.
1. Somebody here said something about red/green wires being bad for color-blind people. Which I agree with. However, I don't think that a global change from red/green is a good idea, and adding a core way to change wire color might be a lot of work. So, I would like to bring this problem to the attention of modders, in hopes that one of them creates a wire recolor mod.
similar to the electricity and logistics overlay
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
Well, what are the actual requirements?Koub wrote:I'm afraid the system requirements actually displayed are a little outdatedZeblote wrote:Well, the system requirements say it currently needs 512MB, so those 2GB should fit in 6!
Could even do with triple resolution
-
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 66
- Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 pm
- Contact:
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
The color thing is a playability issue for some players. I think if you were to right and/or left click a stack of colored cables on terrain instead of entities, you could cycle their colors back and forth. So say you have a stack of green wires and you need red (or blue). Before crafting a whole lot more cable, you could instead split out a few onto your cursor, and cycle them around to the color you want.
Planned projects: Energy Crystals Plus, Minor Fluid Handling, Small electric furnaces
(high-energy materials and assembler, fluid void burner and small tank, tiny and slow furnaces with charcoal)
(high-energy materials and assembler, fluid void burner and small tank, tiny and slow furnaces with charcoal)
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
Blueprints only help once you've made the layout for the first time, and only help if you're going to be reusing a specific layout. Also, if you're trying to connect a circuit network over any kind of distance, there's no quick way to wire up a long series of power poles, like you might find in connecting a main base to a remote train station.ssilk wrote:Jarin wrote:Nifty items and all... but I think the programmers need to remember that the majority of their players... aren't programmers. Some less-complicated applications might be nice?I'm sure that we will in the end have blueprints, in form of a mod or a bp-string, and you need only to put the wire into the right ends. That are things, which are just have practical use, like a regulator, some step-by-step controllers and so on. There are hundreds of electronic IC's (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Integrated_circuit), that can be rebuilt. See list: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_74 ... d_circuitsNemoricus wrote:I'm finding it hard to get excited about this, I'm afraid, because it means dealing with wires, which are one of the most tedious, time-consuming, and error-prone tasks in the game. If there was a way to more quickly and cleanly place red/green wire, I'd find this more useful, but if you still have to connect each wire to each item individually, I think I'm just going to end up ignoring what would otherwise be a very useful feature.
And there are many more.
Re: Friday Facts #88 - Combinators
Remembers me of the lost race of making raster images (PNG) ever bigger to allow better zoom levels/details for images, where a vector image (SVG) could provide endless zoom while retaining the sharpness and details.Zeblote wrote:Well, the system requirements say it currently needs 512MB, so those 2GB should fit in 6!starholme wrote:Just remember that double the resolution means 4x the pixels(and memory)Zeblote wrote:Wait. I just noticed this sentence: "The comparison of the normal resolution render versus the double sized resolution speaks for itself."Cordylus wrote:I can't stop watching now...infinitehubgear wrote:I remember, the HD official mod was mentioned here.
[img ]https://eu3.factorio.com/assets//img/bl ... lution.gif[/img]
So that is only 2 times the normal resolution? That means I'll have enough VRAM for the whole game at this quality! I want it for everything !!
10x10 sprite = 100pixels
20x20 sprite = 400pixels
Could even do with triple resolution
Wait - it's exactly the same that happends here
I'd really love to see the game entities implemented as vector 2D image arrays / do-it-right-3D objects with animation to break this cycle. VRAM usage would plummet.