Page 1 of 1

Allow specifying the location of the script-output directory separately

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 1:20 pm
by L0laapk3
The proper location for this is kind of split between modding interface requests and ideas and suggestions, but my specific use case is for a mod so I'll post it here.


It would be nice if it was possible to specify a separate location for script-output. AFAIK, currently this is not possible: while you can set the write-data path in config.ini, this moves the entire factorio folder, which means that your saves will be searched for in a different folder, just like your player-data.json, and ontop of that it does not allow you to specify the complete path as it will always append a script-output folder.

This would also provide a partial workaround for this problem: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=68499

Thats why I propose to be able to set a path to script-output separately in the config.ini.

Re: Allow specifying the location of the script-output directory separately

Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2020 3:08 pm
by L0laapk3
This feature would be very much appreciated, due to changes in the way factorio handles symlinks on linux, they are now completely broken. Factorio on windows is still happy with having the base script-output be a symlink, but linux will not tolerate even that.

This has caused multiple issue reports on factoriomaps (#57, #68), I understand these are not your problem, but it would be nice if I could implement script-output redirection properly, without having to duplicate/move a bunch of files.

Re: Allow specifying the location of the script-output directory separately

Posted: Sat May 16, 2020 9:20 am
by blahfasel2000
As a workaround on Linux you can use bind mounts, they look like regular directories to any user space program, so Factorio has nothing to complain.

Code: Select all

sudo mount --bind /where/you/want/it /path/to/factorio/script-output
It requires root access to the system though.

To make the bind mount permanent (ie. activated on boot) you can add it to /etc/fstab:

Code: Select all

/where/you/want/it	/path/to/factorio/script-output	none	bind	0 0

Re: Allow specifying the location of the script-output directory separately

Posted: Sat May 30, 2020 6:32 pm
by MaX33333
Bump. Still needs this.

Re: Allow specifying the location of the script-output directory separately

Posted: Sat May 30, 2020 7:34 pm
by Rseding91
Ok, I changed it so the config.ini entry [path] also supports setting 'saves', 'scenarios', 'mods', 'archive', and 'script-output' for the next release.

Re: Allow specifying the location of the script-output directory separately

Posted: Sat May 30, 2020 8:08 pm
by steinio
Rseding91 wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 7:34 pm
Ok, I changed it so the config.ini entry [path] also supports setting 'saves', 'scenarios', 'mods', 'archive', and 'script-output' for the next release.
What is archive for?

Re: Allow specifying the location of the script-output directory separately

Posted: Sun May 31, 2020 1:02 am
by Rseding91
steinio wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 8:08 pm
Rseding91 wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 7:34 pm
Ok, I changed it so the config.ini entry [path] also supports setting 'saves', 'scenarios', 'mods', 'archive', and 'script-output' for the next release.
What is archive for?
desync reports.