[0.12.3] Opening ingame console drops fps to 1

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
yeganer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

[0.12.3] Opening ingame console drops fps to 1

Post by yeganer »

Hey,

as i already noted in the irc if you open the console and the console history is quite full, especially with long lines (serpent.dump() of tables with several hundred entries) the fps will drop significantly.

I created this report just for reference since i think it's already fixed? for the next release.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.3] Opening ingame console drops fps to 1

Post by kovarex »

Could you post your player-data.json file? It contains the history, so we can test against it.

yeganer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.3] Opening ingame console drops fps to 1

Post by yeganer »

Most of the output comes from dumping some mod related tables.

But i'd say the problem is that the game tries to render a huge string(several thousand characters) and it takes some time to do it. Since scrolling isn't possible cutting long strings to just display the last part could solve the issue.

for testing you could to something like

Code: Select all

/c global.test = {}
/c for i=1,10000 do; global.test[i] = "some long string";end
/c game.local_player.print(serpent.dump(global.test))
this may sound like a stupid thing to do but when dumping huge tables for debugging it can happen.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.3] Opening ingame console drops fps to 1

Post by kovarex »

Ok, fixed for 0.12.4, but don't forget, that you can still go to bigger extreme, so even work with the string itself will slow it down enough.

yeganer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.3] Opening ingame console drops fps to 1

Post by yeganer »

Thanks for the fix, that will help quite a lot for debugging.

But i'd guess the working on the string would be a one time thing, so it would lag once only.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.3] Opening ingame console drops fps to 1

Post by kovarex »

yeganer wrote:Thanks for the fix, that will help quite a lot for debugging.

But i'd guess the working on the string would be a one time thing, so it would lag once only.
Yes, but I don't want to spend too much time on it.

Btw, it is limited to 1000 words per message when rendering, with "..." at the end.

And also limited, that it is not rendering console outputs that are above the top of the screen :)

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”