a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
Post Reply
User avatar
coltonj96
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:45 am
Contact:

a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Post by coltonj96 »

I have a mod that I need to have support for blueprints but I need to store custom data in the blueprint without using signals as the storage. Is there such a solution to my problem?

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3700
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Post by DaveMcW »

constant-combinator signals are the best way. You can increase the number of slots if 18 is not enough.

User avatar
coltonj96
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:45 am
Contact:

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Post by coltonj96 »

DaveMcW wrote:constant-combinator signals are the best way. You can increase the number of slots if 18 is not enough.
That's the problem... My mod is UsefulCombinators, I need only enough for outputs and I use GUIs to input data. The mod itself uses Constant Combinators as a base entity

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3700
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Post by DaveMcW »

So add a second constant-combinator for data storage.

User avatar
coltonj96
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:45 am
Contact:

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Post by coltonj96 »

DaveMcW wrote:So add a second constant-combinator for data storage.
What do you mean?

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3700
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Post by DaveMcW »

Your data combinator must:
1. Be invisible
2. Be auto-built every time your UsefulCombinator is built

Then every time a UsefulCombinator is placed, it looks for a nearby data combinator and reads the settings.

See https://mods.factorio.com/mods/NiftyManiac/StickyNotes for an example of how to do it.

User avatar
coltonj96
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:45 am
Contact:

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Post by coltonj96 »

DaveMcW wrote:Your data combinator must:
1. Be invisible
2. Be auto-built every time your UsefulCombinator is built

Then every time a UsefulCombinator is placed, it looks for a nearby data combinator and reads the settings.

See https://mods.factorio.com/mods/NiftyManiac/StickyNotes for an example of how to do it.
But my mod adds 20 or so different combinators and making each one a separate storage for data is not very efficient

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2904
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Post by darkfrei »

coltonj96 wrote: But my mod adds 20 or so different combinators and making each one a separate storage for data is not very efficient
Which data do you need to store?

User avatar
coltonj96
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:45 am
Contact:

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Post by coltonj96 »

darkfrei wrote:
coltonj96 wrote: But my mod adds 20 or so different combinators and making each one a separate storage for data is not very efficient
Which data do you need to store?
I need to be able to store my custom table data in an entity/blueprint so that my mod has blueprint support

Post Reply

Return to “Modding help”