Bus Mod

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
ss_Baum
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Bus Mod

Post by ss_Baum »

Hi everyone,

I would like to create a Mod, that creates a Bus with multiple belt inputs and one output and of course the same reverse.
I don't have any experience with modding factorio, so I would like to start with this.

I already figured out, that I need to use an already existing prototype, that I need to create the animations and so on. But I couldn't find something about the inputs and outputs. Can you modify them? Or would it be necessary to create a complete new entity, if this is even possible.

Because I am very new to this topic, I would be happy about anything, related to this topic (links to tutorials about entyties, hints, ...)

I apreciate your help. Thank you very much.

DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: Bus Mod

Post by DaveMcW »

You cannot create new prototypes, you have to work with the ones we have.

Fortunately, the linked-belt prototype can do what you want. Make a linked-belt connecting the multiple input to the multiple output, and everything works.

An advanced solution is to run the linked-belt along a separate surface before getting to the output, to make the timing more realistic.

ss_Baum
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Post by ss_Baum »

DaveMcW wrote:
Sat Jan 23, 2021 11:13 pm
You cannot create new prototypes, you have to work with the ones we have.

Fortunately, the linked-belt prototype can do what you want. Make a linked-belt connecting the multiple input to the multiple output, and everything works.

An advanced solution is to run the linked-belt along a separate surface before getting to the output, to make the timing more realistic.
Well, thank you for the quick response, I looked after this prototype quite a bit, but figured out, that this prototype probably needs version 1.1. I would like to Implement it for 1.0. So it seems like this doesn't work.