I'm currently working on a mod that has some fluids that, by all accounts, should not be able to flow through 'standard' pipes. For example, I want to add a pneumatic pipe to transport certain 'dry' materials.
Which means i would need to filter out that from the normal pipes.
The issue I've ran into is that a pipe cannot have more than exactly one whitelist filter on it's fluid_box. I've tried using a different entity (assembling machine) because pipes only support one fluid box, but then ran into the issue that fluid_boxes may not collide. I seriously doubt that it is possible to fake a pipe that can only support a specific set of fluids.
Therefore, i would like a filter on the pipes (whitelist and blacklist, ideally -> i can work with one, but it would probably break my logic if other mods add fluids), which works similar to the filter on the fluid_boxes, or ideally a similar filter on the fluid_box property.
Allow more than one filter on fluid_boxes
- Stringweasel
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 411
- Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:22 pm
- Contact:
Re: Allow more than one filter on fluid_boxes
+1 from me
Related:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=105271
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=71721
viewtopic.php?f=221&t=55661 - probably most interesting one with links to responses from devs
Related:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=105271
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=71721
viewtopic.php?f=221&t=55661 - probably most interesting one with links to responses from devs
Alt-F4 Author | Factorio Modder
My Mods: Hall of Fame | Better Victory Screen | Fluidic Power | Biter Power | Space Spidertron | Spidertron Dock |Weasel's Demolition Derby
Official Contributor to Space Exploration
My Mods: Hall of Fame | Better Victory Screen | Fluidic Power | Biter Power | Space Spidertron | Spidertron Dock |
Official Contributor to Space Exploration
Re: Allow more than one filter on fluid_boxes
I had a reverse-form of the idea that works like "fluid categories" (I hadn't seen that one or I would've replied to it!) :
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=109467
Rather than restrict the fluids in the pipes, restrict the pipe connections. In my mind it seems a lot more like what is wanted, without having run-time overhead.
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=109467
Rather than restrict the fluids in the pipes, restrict the pipe connections. In my mind it seems a lot more like what is wanted, without having run-time overhead.
I have mods! I guess!
Link
Link
-
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 98
- Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2022 4:33 pm
- Contact:
Re: Allow more than one filter on fluid_boxes
+1
If you need to reach me, message me on discord.
I make qol mods. Check them out, maybe.
https://mods.factorio.com/user/protocol_1903
If you have a mod idea, I can look into it.
I make qol mods. Check them out, maybe.
https://mods.factorio.com/user/protocol_1903
If you have a mod idea, I can look into it.
-
- Inserter
- Posts: 39
- Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2023 1:20 am
- Contact:
-
- Inserter
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2023 4:03 pm
- Contact:
Re: Allow more than one filter on fluid_boxes
I wanted fluid categories, so I made a mod with an API that's hopefully useful for other mods that define their own entities and fluids. Since I can't prevent fluids from flowing, the mod destroys pipes when they have an incompatible fluid.
I haven't worked with the remote interface before, so there could be bugs in that API.
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/call-plumber
I haven't worked with the remote interface before, so there could be bugs in that API.
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/call-plumber