[0.11.15] [cube] Crash with saves a symlink across devices

Bugs that we were not able to reproduce, and/or are waiting for more detailed info.
Post Reply
anmoch
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 6:11 pm
Contact:

[0.11.15] [cube] Crash with saves a symlink across devices

Post by anmoch »

I tried making the 'saves' directory a symlink to a directory elsewhere to simplify syncing it:

Code: Select all

$ ls -l
total 480
drwxr-xr-x   3 thomas users   4096 Dec 22 17:53 bin
drwxr-xr-x   2 thomas users   4096 Dec 29 17:27 config
-rw-r--r--   1 thomas users    998 Dec 22 17:53 config-path.cfg
-rw-r--r--   1 thomas users 438604 Feb  8 20:40 crop-cache.dat
drwxr-xr-x   5 thomas users   4096 Feb  4 18:59 data
-rw-r--r--   1 thomas users   2975 Feb  8 20:40 factorio-current.log
-rw-r--r--   1 thomas users   1782 Feb  8 20:40 factorio-previous.log
drwxr-xr-x   2 thomas users   4096 Dec 29 17:27 mods
-rw-r--r--   1 thomas users    540 Feb  8 20:40 player-data.json
lrwxrwxrwx   1 thomas users     28 Feb  8 20:40 saves -> /home/thomas/.factorio-saves
drwxr-xr-x 264 thomas users  12288 Feb  8 20:40 temp
But this crashes the game with this first stacktrace (full log attached):

Code: Select all

39769.546816  Info Scenario.cpp:159: Map version 0.11.15-0
./bin/x64/factorio[0x489ae9]
./bin/x64/factorio[0x533f83]
./bin/x64/factorio[0x533fe9]
/lib64/libc.so.6(+0x35550)[0x7fbb90ddf550]
./bin/x64/factorio[0xbab914]
./bin/x64/factorio[0x694c47]
./bin/x64/factorio[0x8e51e6]
./bin/x64/factorio[0x8e57fb]
./bin/x64/factorio[0xbfe5ba]
/lib64/libpthread.so.0(+0x80db)[0x7fbb92b0e0db]
/lib64/libc.so.6(clone+0x6d)[0x7fbb90e9158d]
It reproduces perfectly, but the number of printed stacktraces varies. It also terminates with 1, segfault or bus error randomly.

I found this old thread claiming it's fixed for 0.11.6:

https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 97&p=50033

Certainly looks like the same bug :-(

User avatar
cube
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.15] [cube] Crash with saves a symlink across devic

Post by cube »

Hi, the log file wasn't attached :)

Is your factorio game directory on the same filesystem? Please post also the result of "mount" command.

anmoch
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.15] [cube] Crash with saves a symlink across devic

Post by anmoch »

Oops. And by now I of course lost *that* logfile, but here's one of a new run. (It would help if the forum accepted .log or .txt attachments, sigh.)

As the subject said, it's a different device:

# in the factorio directory
$ df -h .
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/bigdisk-home 902G 566G 290G 67% /home/thomas/BIG
$ df -h saves/
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/ssdisk-home 200G 128G 63G 68% /home

The relevant 'mount' entries are:
/dev/mapper/ssdisk-home on /home type ext4 (rw,relatime,data=ordered)
/dev/mapper/bigdisk-home on /home/thomas/BIG type ext4 (rw,relatime,data=ordered)


To be sure, I can easily deal with this by not having all these crazy symlinks around. However, the frustrating aspect of the bug is that once it happens you lose all the progress because it crashes but does not actually save the game. (I now realize that the save from the test run actually remained in temp/, so maybe it would have been recoverable.)
Attachments
factorio-current.log.zip
(1.17 KiB) Downloaded 181 times

User avatar
cube
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.15] [cube] Crash with saves a symlink across devices

Post by cube »

The weird thing about this is that I use a very similar setup for a long time now (actually since I closed the first bug) and I can't reproduce this. Do you have any idea what could be different about your setup? Or could you maybe try experimenting with different links and try to investigate what exactly causes the crash. Or you can wait for 0.11.18 when we will hopefully have better backtraces (because now they are mostly useless :-) )

Post Reply

Return to “Pending”