[15.35] auto-cropping of beam sprites makes them misalign

We are aware of them, but they have low priority. We have more important things to do. They go here in order not to take space in the main bug thread list.
Post Reply
Meppi
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 2:57 pm
Contact:

[15.35] auto-cropping of beam sprites makes them misalign

Post by Meppi »

As discussed in this thread, the automatic cropping of beam sprites causes head, body and tail to misalign, due to changing the rotation center.

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5202
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [15.35] auto-cropping of beam sprites makes them misalign

Post by posila »

Thanks for the report.
Use

Code: Select all

flags = { "no-crop" }
in the sprite/animation definition. See for example "defender-capsule"

Meppi
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [15.35] auto-cropping of beam sprites makes them misalign

Post by Meppi »

Ah thanks, the distractor-robots lightning beam uses the same workaround though. :)

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5206
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: [15.35] auto-cropping of beam sprites makes them misalign

Post by eradicator »

It would be pretty awesome is this kind of barely-known flag and some off the other oddities of prototype definitions were as well documented as the rest of the http://lua-api.factorio.com/ . Google finds only one thread (another bug report) that even mentiones "no-crop" at all. :?
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3159
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: [15.35] auto-cropping of beam sprites makes them misalign

Post by Bilka »

eradicator wrote:It would be pretty awesome is this kind of barely-known flag and some off the other oddities of prototype definitions were as well documented as the rest of the http://lua-api.factorio.com/ . Google finds only one thread (another bug report) that even mentiones "no-crop" at all. :?
That documentation is about the control stage, not the data stage, sadly. For a barebones documentation of the data stage (prototypes etc) see the wiki: https://wiki.factorio.com/Prototype_definitions . That's also where I'll add the flag. The prototpyes currently cannot be automatically documented from the game code, which is why there is no good documentation. I already annoyed Rseding by asking for it over and over :lol:
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

Post Reply

Return to “Minor issues”