CLI for updating Factorio

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
User avatar
Hares
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2022 8:05 pm
Contact:

CLI for updating Factorio

Post by Hares »

TL;DR
Factorio CLI should provide commands for updating Factorio and/or mods

What ?
Factorio command-line interface (CLI) should provide commands for downloading update packages and/or mod updates.
I.e., the following:

Code: Select all

./factorio --download-update experimental --latest
./factorio --apply-update 2.0.0 --download
./factorio --update-mods --all
./factorio --download-mods "space-exploration>=0.6,Milestones"
These should respect other parameters, such as "--mod-directory".
They should also use the already-authorized user's credentials, or allow "--auth USERNAME:PASSWORD" parameter if none.
Why ?
Factorio client already has this functionality, but it is only available in the UI.
Factorio CLI supports only applying already downloaded update packages but does not provide any option to download them.

There are multiple 3rd-party scripts covering this functionality, but it would be nice to have them "from the box", here are some of them:

Maximus-CZ
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: CLI for updating Factorio

Post by Maximus-CZ »

Oh definetly this! I came looking for solution and finding scripts from 2015 dont inspire much confidence.

Game about automation and it cant be automatically updated? Is this game even out of beta? :D

User avatar
vinzenz
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2021 6:45 pm
Contact:

Re: CLI for updating Factorio

Post by vinzenz »

The factorio docker image is also a great way to keep your headless server updated (by using the `stable` or `latest` tag) https://github.com/factoriotools/factorio-docker
bringing the oops to devops

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”