change the recipes: Both Ingredients and Results

Post Reply
User avatar
Dysoch
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

change the recipes: Both Ingredients and Results

Post by Dysoch »

currently the recipes are made like this:

Code: Select all

    ingredients =
    {
      {type="fluid", name="crude-oil", amount=10},
      {type="fluid", name="water", amount=5}
    },
    results=
    {
      {type="fluid", name="heavy-oil", amount=1},
      {type="fluid", name="light-oil", amount=4.5},
      {type="fluid", name="petroleum-gas", amount=5.5}
    },
but since you can heat the fluids, i was thinking (and hoping you would add it, since i could use it :P)
to add temperature to the recipes, so you can specify the temperature range. something like:

Code: Select all

heating water through recipe: 

this is the specific recipe, which will always add the temperature set
     ingredients =
    {
      {type="fluid", name="water", temp_min=10,  temp_max=50, amount=5}
    },
    results=
    {
      {type="fluid", name="water", temp=75,  amount=5}
    },

the recipe which has a random result in temperature:

ingredients =
    {
      {type="fluid", name="water", temp_min=10,  temp_max=50, amount=5}
    },
    results=
    {
      {type="fluid", name="water", temp_min=60, temp_max=80, amount=5}
    },
these recipes are just examples, i have no intention to heat water through recipes, it can already be done with boilers.

i want to use it for the lava system i am adding, and then i could specify the heat of the lava needed for the smelting of the ores
Creator of:
- DyTech
- DyWorld
- DyWorld-Dynamics
- DyWorld-Dynamics 2
Active since Factorio 0.6

User avatar
ludsoe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:16 am
Contact:

Re: change the recipes: Both Ingredients and Results

Post by ludsoe »

As this threads about changing recipes, I propose we add a new ingredient perimeter. "Recipe Ingredient category"
The idea is we have the Ingredient category that allows us to place wildcards into recipes. Such as
{
type="IRCat"
name="metals"
Items = {"copper-ore","iron-ore"}
}
then in the recipe we just need:
{type="IRCat", name="metals", amount=10},
And the recipe will search for either 10 copper or 10 iron. And if we add another perimeter maybe we can have it check the total for all the items in a category, instead of only checking if one of them has enough for the amount.

Or another idea is to change the way the crafting screen works slightly, where if multiple recipes include the same output item. They are merged into a single button that when clicked on displays all the different recipes for that item.

slpwnd
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1835
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: change the recipes: Both Ingredients and Results

Post by slpwnd »

Specifying the temperature for the fluid in the recipe is something we had originally in mind for the oil refinery. In the end we decided to go with a simple solution and I am happy we did because it would probably be too much. But adding it for modding purposes is a good idea. I put it on our todo list for the 0.10.

User avatar
ludsoe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:16 am
Contact:

Re: change the recipes: Both Ingredients and Results

Post by ludsoe »

slpwnd wrote:Specifying the temperature for the fluid in the recipe is something we had originally in mind for the oil refinery. In the end we decided to go with a simple solution and I am happy we did because it would probably be too much. But adding it for modding purposes is a good idea. I put it on our todo list for the 0.10.
Did this ever get done? Or are we just going to forget about this and move onto 0.11.0?

Post Reply

Return to “Implemented mod requests”