[Klonan] [2.0.11] New cutscenes don't use previous waypoint zoom value

asher_sky
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:13 pm
Contact:

[Klonan] [2.0.11] New cutscenes don't use previous waypoint zoom value

Post by asher_sky »

In Factorio 1.1 when overwriting the cutscene controller with new waypoints, if the first waypoint had `zoom = nil` then the zoom value from the previous waypoint would be used. In 2.0.11 this behavior has changed, so if the first waypoint has no zoom the camera will go way in.
I assume (and hope) this is not intentional, but I understand that this specific behavior was not documented in the first place so I'm almost hesitant to make the bug report. But I liked the behavior and utilized it in my mod. I think it makes sense since the same logic is explicitly stated for waypoint-to-waypoint transitions (https://lua-api.factorio.com/latest/con ... point.html). Cutscene-to-cutscene zoom inheritance should be the same.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Load a new save
2. Start a cutscene with a zoom value set for each waypoint

Code: Select all

/c game.player.set_controller(
    {
        type = defines.controllers.cutscene,
        waypoints = {
            {
                position = {x = 0, y = 0},
                transition_time = 60,
                time_to_wait = 60,
                zoom = .5
            },
            {
                position = {x = 10, y = 10},
                transition_time = 60,
                time_to_wait = 60,
                zoom =.4
            },
            {
                position = {x = 0, y = 0},
                transition_time = 60,
                time_to_wait = 60,
                zoom = .3
            },
        },
    }
)
3. While the previous cutscene is playing, start a new cutscene where zoom is not set

Code: Select all

/c game.player.set_controller(
    {
        type = defines.controllers.cutscene,
        waypoints = {
            {
                position = {x = 0, y = 0},
                transition_time = 60,
                time_to_wait = 60,
            },
            {
                position = {x = 10, y = 10},
                transition_time = 60,
                time_to_wait = 60,
            },
            {
                position = {x = 0, y = 0},
                transition_time = 60,
                time_to_wait = 60,
            },
        },
    }
)
Result: In 1.1, the second cutscene would have used the zoom value from the current waypoint of the already playing cutscene, but in 2.0 it resets and zooms the camera way in.

Thanks
User avatar
Stringweasel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 411
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] New cutscenes don't use previous waypoint zoom value

Post by Stringweasel »

The Jetpack might be experiencing something relater where the zoom resets when you toggle the jetpack.

It works by dissociating the character from the controller, replace chacter with flying one, and associate it with controller.

So it seems this interaction with the controller is resetting the zoom. The expected behaviour, as it was in 1.1, would be that the zoom remains unchanged.
Alt-F4 Author | Factorio Modder
My Mods: Hall of Fame | Better Victory Screen | Fluidic Power | Biter Power | Space Spidertron | Spidertron Dock | Weasel's Demolition Derby
Official Contributor to Space Exploration
asher_sky
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:13 pm
Contact:

Re: [Klonan] [2.0.11] New cutscenes don't use previous waypoint zoom value

Post by asher_sky »

To add on to what Stringweasel mentioned, it appears that when exiting cutscene controller, zoom is reset to an arbitrary level. In 1.1 it would stay at the level of the last waypoint. I would expect that when exiting the cutscene, zoom is either left unchanged from what it was during the cutscene (preferred, this feels the most seamless and is how it was in 1.1), or it is reset to the value from before the cutscene started (stashed zoom).
Post Reply

Return to “Assigned”